- DIY Homemade Pepper Spray - How to Make Pungent Spray December 07, 2020
- Best Pepper Spray - 2021 OC Buying Guide December 03, 2020
- Are Stun Batons a Good Protection Tool? September 04, 2020
Top Pepper Spray
Top Stun Guns
Are Stun Guns Legal
Post by Bryan Buckner
The popularity of stun guns as effective self defense weapons are at all time highs. This is largely because of technology. Enhancements in technology have created stun guns that are reliable, effective and affordable. The only thing standing in the way of everyone owning them are applicable laws. Are stun guns legal for self defense? In most states, the answer is yes, in fact in 42 states stun guns are legal non lethal self defense products. The following states have restrictions on the use of stun devices: Hawaii, New York, Massachusetts, Michigan, Illinois, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin. We don't agree with the laws, in fact the laws violate the Second Amendment. Nevertheless, stun guns cannot be shipped to or used legally in the states above. Hawaiian law states that it is unlawful for any person to have in their possession an "electric gun". Law enforcement will confiscate and dispose of any "electric gun". There is no mention of criminal charges associated with the possession of stun guns in Hawaii. Massachusetts law states that "No person shall sell, offer for sale or possess a portable device or weapon from which an electric current, impulse, wave or beam may be directed, which current, impulse, wave or beam is designed to incapacitate temporarily, injure or kill." The penalty for anyone caught in violation is punishment by fine of up to $1000 and/or imprisonment of up to six months. In Michigan, possession of stun guns is a felony offense, though the criminal punishment is not detailed. Stun guns cannot be sold or possessed within the state of Michigan. Wisconsin law makes stun gun possession a Class E felony, likewise the punishment is not described. In the states of New York and New Jersey, stun gun possession is classified as a fourth degree offense by any person, including a law enforcement officer. The punishment is up to 18 months in prison and/or a $7500 fine. In the state of Rhode Island stun guns are prohibited. Any person found guilty of violating this law is subject to a fine of up to $500 and/or imprisonment for up to one year. In all cases the weapon will be confiscated. Please note that we do not intend this to be an all inclusive list. Stun gun laws are ultimately the users responsibility not ours. Prior to purchasing a stun gun or stun device we recommend checking local laws.